Yes, this yarn has a 2.5% content of shellfish chitin. So it's traif (not suitable for observant Jews to eat, not that I'm planning on eating it) but I don't know if its forbidden as shatnetz as well. I'm not sure if the prohibition against shellfish applies to uses other than eating. I'm still realizing a benefit from the yarn, so it might. Perhaps someone who knows Jewish law and assuage my slight guilt or lead me to giving them away.
It's about 10am now, and my sixth day of work this week. I'm so looking forward to going home and preparing for the Shabbat. I need the rest. Hopefully I will leave the very important government officeby 11:30.